Let me look at you

I look at you, but I don’t see you. I never do. No matter how hard I look, I never see you. Even when I’m looking straight at you.
I see something standing where you are supposed to be.
It looks like you but it isn’t. Not really
What I see had been altered. Tweaked by life’s vicissitudes.
Modified and shaped by hurt and bad memories.
What I see is what accidents have created.
Come out!. Stop hiding behind something as malleable as this.
Show me who I want to see. Show me who you truly are.
Peel off this surface and show me you.
I would love to see.

 

In response to the daily prompt

One thought on “Let me look at you

Leave a Reply

