BED TIME

The dreary specter has come to cradle me to sleep. As she does every night. Right on time as she always is. She is never late. Everything is as it should be. It’s time to sleep. The clock agrees. Here’s how I know. When the long arm pokes at the hole in my heart caused by the absence of you. Then it’s time. It feels just right. As hurtful as ever. The short arm is in its place as well. Punctual as ever. Pointing to the promises you made and broke. Right between “together forever” and “I will always be your sun”. It feels just right. As hurtful as ever. I’m ready mistress. Put me to sleep. Hold me in your cold lonesome embrace, and rock me to sleep. Maybe when I’m asleep, I won’t feel so alone.

Leave a Reply

